Mono London

By the Munching Mariner (published East End Life, 1 May 2011)

It was a beautiful Tuesday afternoon and my Thirst Mate and I were out for an early lunch. I’m sure the weather explains it, but Mono London was already packed at 12.15.

There were a few tables exposed to the sunshine at the front, on the north side of Roman Road. There is also a small basement area in addition to the tables gathered around the food counter.

Mono London serves a range of sandwiches, soups and cakes along with drinks including coffee, tea, milkshakes and fruit smoothies.

My Thirst Mate ordered a strawberry frappe milkshake and I had a mango and orange smoothie. Both drinks were perhaps a little thinner than a typical milkshake or smoothie, but they were fresh, delicious and just what we were looking for.

We both ordered sandwich baguettes for lunch. My Thirst Mate’s was chicken, bacon and sweetcorn. Like mine, it was presented in a basket and seemed to go down well. I ordered a meatball and cheese baguette which the server offered to heat for me. This too went down well. The meatballs were covered with an Italian tomato sauce, into which the cheese had started to melt. It was just what I wanted to accompany my healthy smoothie.

We had just enough time after lunch to treat ourselves to a chocolate brownie, for me, and a Danish pastry for my Thirst Mate.

Mono London is clean and bright, with a striking black/red/silver décor. The service was friendly and welcoming, which also helps to explain why it was so busy on the afternoon of our visit. Our lunch bill came to £14.70, but it’s certainly possible to put away a decent lunch here, including a drink, for less than a fiver.

Mono London is just off the number 8 bus route at 535 Roman Road, E3.

3 thoughts on “Mono London

  1. I dont think this is an objective review, as it is totally opposite of my experience in “Mono” and many i know. Thank you for wasting my time and money there. There are much better options available on Roman Road.

    • Thanks for your comment. I’ve been only once to Mono, and can’t claim any wider authority than that. But it was an honest assessment of a cafe which seems to offer good value, if not necessarily a premium lunch.

  2. Mono is a gem of a coffee shop, I only when in there because I was fed up with the poor service from Chicchi.
    Love the décor, food, coffee and most of all the friendly staff, especially the bold headed chap (sorry I forgot your name!)

Leave a Reply

