La Figa

By the Munching Mariner (published East End Life, 12 June 2011)

“That meat is perfection” – My Thirst Mate favoured my own dish to hers, but we were both very happy with our food at La Figa.

I’d finished work late, so it was 9pm before we arrived at the restaurant. It was a Tuesday evening and the place was buzzing. My Thirst Mate immediately identified a dessert she wanted later, so we opened with a basket of garlic pizza to share and checked out the rest of the menu.

The garlic pizza was a generous portion and included tomato and herbs; very appetising. There was a large range of other pizzas and pastas available, but we both settled on a meat dish.

My Thirst Mate ordered Pollo La Figa, a portion of chicken wrapped up in a parcel of breadcrumbs along with spinach and mozzarella. It was unusual, and evidently exclusive to the restaurant. The elements work well together and even better alongside the sautéed potatoes and salad served with both our meals.

My own choice was Filletto di Manzo al Pepe Verde; cooked medium. We always share a bite of each other’s dishes, but despite my Thirst Mate’s spoken enthusiasm for my food, I kept most of it to myself. This dish was very thick cut fillet steak soaked in green pepper sauce. It was one of the pricier items from the specials menu but worth a rare treat.

I washed it down with a glass of Montepulciano as recommended by our waitress.

It was getting late by the time we ordered our desserts, but these were worth staying for. My Thirst Mate had Tiramisu, and for me, Crème Brûlée. The Tiramisu was light, fluffy and not too rich. My Crème Brûlée, not an easy one to get right, was also well composed.

The service was proficient and friendly, seemingly mostly Italian. The restaurant itself was bright and spacious, majoring on red and yellow pastels.

Our bill came to £73.65 including two glasses of wine and two soft drinks, but excluding service. This is more than we’d normally spend, but it’s hard to fault the food or the overall experience.

La Figa is at The Mosaic Building, off Narrow Street, E14 8DN. Telephone 020 7790 0077.

Leave a Reply

